Governance Structure

Economic Vision 2030

Bahrain aspires to transition from an oil-based economy to a productive economy capable of competing on a global level. While the government shapes this vision, the pioneering private sector drives its initiatives.

The government and Bahraini society have adopted the principles of equity, competition and sustainability for providing means of an honourable life to the Bahraini people and benefiting from their full potential. 


 Basic Principles of Economic Vision 2030
Competitiveness Equity Sustainability

The vision is that Bahrain achieves a highly competitive capability in the global economy and succeeds in increasing production more naturally in a competitive climate that pushes forth the wheel of economic growth, multiplies profits and raises wage levels. The rising average of production shall increase the capability of commodities and services to compete in the global market and usher in more revenue. This will cause companies to provide better services and continuously search for best ways for production. 

 

Bahrain’s vision is that the impending economic success of the Kingdom shall impact the society on a wide scale. It will lead to the creation of a broad base of prosperity. Each individual shall be able to make valued contributions to the society when the means and appropriate opportunities are provided to him. 
In order to stimulate and strengthen equity, the public and private sector must adhere to transparency. They must provide an environment of free and fair competition in all transactions. The role of the government lies in providing a legal and regulatory framework that guarantees the protection of consumers and fair treatment of businessmen including foreign investors. This means the rooting out of corruption and striving towards the fair application of laws.
Equity in society means treating everyone equally pursuant to the law. 

A large portion of the magnitude of growth witnessed in Bahrain during the last two decades is owed to the public sector. However, it is becoming difficult to proceed further in the same direction considering the increasing restrictions that government budgets are generally faced with and the increasing competition in the global economy. As such, by 2030, it is envisaged that the private sector will be capable to manage the economic activity in a manner that shall ensure the sustainable prosperity.
The economic vision is to consolidate the prosperity of our Kingdom on strong foundations. Therefore, it is imperative that the government funding policy is compliant with the principle of sustainability in order to maintain a stable system based on future aspirations.​

 

Government Action Plan (2019-2022)

The Government Action Plan (2019-2022) focuses on consolidating the achievements of the country and its citizens by striking a fiscal balance between expenditure and revenue while continuing on the path of positive economic growth, monetary stability and comprehensive development.
The approach towards fiscal sustainability and economic growth in the Government Action Plan is aimed at reducing the budget deficit, stabilising public debt and arriving at a fiscal balance between expenditure and revenue by the end of 2022, while continuing on the path of positive economic growth and attracting investment in a manner that contributes to the creation of more promising job opportunities for citizens. This is through developing the non-oil sectors and regulating and developing the sector of oil, gas and related industries in light of the discovery of the largest oil and gas field in the Kingdom of Bahrain. 
The Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Tourism contributes to achieving the Government’s vision regarding sustainable economic growth primarily through its initiatives which are as follows: 
  • Enhancing the role of the private sector as the primary driver of growth.
  • Diversification of local economy through supporting priority economic sectors (oil, manufacturing industry, financial services, logistics, tourism, communications and information technology).
  • Strengthening the legislative and regulatory environment necessary for sectors that support economic growth.
  • Reinforcing and developing the investment environment for encouraging investment, innovation and entrepreneurship.
  • Working towards improving Bahrain's connectivity with regional and international markets.​
This is in addition to the Ministry's contribution towards supporting and strengthening the role of start-ups and SMEs that support economic growth, and in conducting support programmes to ensure the growth of the business environment.​

Developing the Goals of the Ministry
The Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Tourism has adopted clear strategic plans and objectives based on a set of programmes and projects identified in accordance with the Government Action Plan 2019-2022 and the aspirations of the Economic Vision 2030, in line with the Economic Vision 2030 of the Kingdom of Bahrain. Within the framework of the Ministry’s efforts to achieve the targets, the Ministry has announced its goals which include six strategic themes and 15 initiative / projects (to be adjusted according to the Government Action Plan every 4 years) to be translated into on-field contributions for improving and developing the commercial and industrial environment in the public and private sectors of Bahrain.
These goals are based on a set of focus points, the most important whereof are: ensuring a fair and transparent regulatory climate, benefiting from bilateral and international trade agreements, the presence of a competitive SME sector, enhancing the export capability of the national manufacturing industry, raising the level of competition in the industrial sector and improving the quality and efficiency of the Ministry’s services by employing modern information technology. ​

Measures of Success of the Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Tourism

The initiatives of the Ministry impact priority matters considering that the Ministry is the primary driver of the economy in the Government. Its services have a significant impact on the society in the following areas:

  • Improving the quality of life; this, through creating jobs by creating opportunities and activities in the industrial and commercial sectors.
  • Facilitating procedures in accordance with international best practices related to the practice of industrial and commercial activity which shall positively impact national incomes.
  • Improving the quality of life by providing a world-class infrastructure for business.
  • Safeguarding the rights of consumers and maintaining quality in manufacturing and services, whether local or foreign.
  •  Increasing awareness among the public for matters related to intellectual property rights, consumer rights and corporate governance.
444Concordance with the Economic Vision1.jpg
Concordance with the Economic Vision2.jpg
Concordance with the Economic Vision3.jpg

General Strategies of the Ministry

The work of the Government of the Kingdom of Bahrain is focused on strong foundations built upon the principles of justice, competition and sustainability, on achieving a fiscal balance between government revenues and expenditures by the year 2022 and sustainable growth. The Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Tourism has institutionalised a number of general strategies for the indigenisation of these principles, some of which are as follows: 

  • Emphasising the importance of providing a fair environment that safeguards the rights of the consumer as well as the trader and protects both parties from erroneous commercial practices, and contributes to building consumer trust in the commodities sold in the market by strengthening trust through achieving high levels of transparency, regulation and control for ensuring the compliance of market commodities with specifications and metrics. This is in addition to the Ministry emphasising on the need to enhance and increase consumer awareness in matters related to rights and commodities by strengthening consumer and trader awareness related to rights and practices of commercial transactions. 
  • Promoting competitiveness in the business environment by facilitating commercial and investment business practice and raising the Kingdom’s competitiveness by supporting commercial business needs and enacting policies and laws.
  • Focusing on investment in non-oil sectors for creating investment opportunities therein, and improving the regulatory and procedural environment for enabling diversified investments by facilitating the provision of services and licences electronically through a unified portal on the Ministry’s e-system “Sijilat 2.0” and the industrial services system “Industry”.
  • Focusing on enhancing the culture of entrepreneurship by increasing the number of start-up companies and enterprises, and popularising entrepreneurship culture as an important pillar of knowledge for the youth by assisting in the orientation of their mindsets towards successful and sustainable commercial projects. This is in addition to supporting business accelerators and incubators, and entrepreneurship centres, and developing freelance programmes and content at the various educational levels.
  • The Ministry keenly works on securing more and more financing, investment and development programmes aimed at SMEs, increasing the creation of job opportunities in SMEs and creating an attractive and stimulating environment for the SME sector by reviewing and developing existing policies, procedures and systems, and creating an electronic portal that enables these enterprises to participate in government tenders and procurements allocated therefor where they can also obtain a preference of 10% at the time of participating in auctions of service utilities for the facilities of government agencies.
  • The initiatives of the Ministry have given special consideration to countering money laundering and terror financing operations. These initiatives also include the launch of a comprehensive electronics service centre “Sijilat 2.0” for investors, and strengthening control through the implementation of governance, compliance of companies and raising the levels of transparency and disclosure.

Performance Indicators
The strategic goals of the Ministry shall be achieved by creating programmes that are integrated therewith and contain performance indicators for measuring its accomplishments and ascertaining the achievement of its goals.

Gender Equality
The Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Tourism has constituted an Equal Opportunities Committee, a panel created to integrate women’s needs in the framework of equal opportunities in the workplace. The Committee works to achieve the principle of equal opportunities for all employees, beneficiaries and services provided by the Ministry by coordinating with the Supreme Council for Women. The Committee puts forth its opinions in cases related to integrating the needs of the women in the framework of equal opportunities. The Ministry constituted the Equal Opportunities Committee after the issuance of Instructions No. 04 of 2014 of the Civil Service Bureau regarding the creation of an Equal Opportunities Committee in the government sector.
The Equal Opportunities Committee at the Ministry is concerned with developing rules, benchmarks and plans related to the application of equal opportunities and achieving complete integration of women’s needs in the equal opportunities framework, following-up on the application thereof, and providing consultations in coordination with the Supreme Council for Women and the Civil Service Bureau whenever required in accordance with its competences provided for in the law and regulations of Civil Service in the following fields:
  • Promoting the equality of opportunities among the employees of the Ministry in matters of appointments, training, exchange programmes and promotions, and guaranteeing the observance of integrating the needs of the working woman.
  • Integrating the needs of the women in the framework of equal opportunities in policies, plans and budgets of the Ministry.
  • Building capacity of the Ministry’s employees in the field of women’s needs in the equal opportunities framework.
  • Improving the status of the woman and her work environment, and overcoming impediments and difficulties that obstruct the application of the principle of equal opportunity at the Ministry.
  • Supporting the efforts of the Supreme Council for Women, vitalising and publicising its efforts in the field of equal opportunities, and integrating the needs of the woman in the equal opportunities framework in the Ministry’s programmes in accordance with the national plan programmes for the advancement of the Bahraini woman.
  • Realising the principle of equal opportunities for all beneficiaries of the services provided by the Ministry.

هيكل الحوكمة

الرؤية الاقتصادية 2030

تطمح البحرين إلى الانتقال من اقتصاد قائم على الثروة النفطية، إلـى اقتصاد منتج قادر على المنافسة عالمياً، ترسم  الحكومة ملامحه فيما يقود القطاع الخاص الرائد مبادراته.

وتتبنى الحكومة ويبنى المجتمع البحريني على مبادئ الإنصاف، والمنافسة، والاستدامة، وذلك من أجـل تهيئة وسائل الحياة الكريمة للشعب البحريني والاستفادة مـن كامل إمكانياته.

المبادىء الأساسية للرؤية الاقتصادية حتى عام 2030
التنافسية العدالة الإستدامة

الرؤية هي أن تحقق البحرين قدرة تنافسية عالية في الاقتصاد العالمي.  و تتحقق زيادة الإنتاجية بشكل طبيعي أكثر في ظل مناخ تنافسي يدفع عجلة التنمية الاقتصادية، ويضاعف الأرباح، ويرفع مستويات الأجور، فالمعدل المرتفع للإنتاجية يجعل السلع والخدمات أكثر قدرة على

المنافسة في السوق العالمي، وتحقيق دخل أكبر، مما يملي على الشركات تقديم أفضل الخدمات، والبحث الدائم عن أفضل الطرق للإنتاج.

 

رؤية البحرين هي أن النجاح الاقتصادي المستقبلي للمملكة سيؤثر على المجتمع بشكل أوسع، ويؤدي إلى إيجاد قاعدة عريضة للازدهار، وأن كل فرد يستطيع أن يقدم إسهامًا قيمًا للمجتمع إذا توفرت له الوسائل وأتيحت له الفرصة المناسبة.

ولتحفيز وتعزيز العدالة لابد أن يلتزم القطاعان العام والخاص بالشفافية، وتوفير أجواء التنافس الحر العادل في كافة المعاملات، ويكمن دور الحكومة في توفير الإطار القانوني والتنظيمي الذي يضمن حماية المستهلكين والمعاملة العادلة لأصحاب الأعمال بمن فيهم المستثمرون الأجانب، وهذا يعني استئصال الفساد، والسعي إلى التطبيق العادل للقوانين.

والعدالة في المجتمع تعني معاملة الجميع بالتساوي بموجب القانون.

يرجع الجانب الأكبر من حجم النمو الذي تم تحقيقه في البحرين خلال العقدين الماضيين إلى القطاع العام، وهو اتجاه أصبح من الصعب المضي فيه أكثر من ذلك، نظرًا إلى القيود المتزايدة التي أصبحت تحكم الميزانيات الحكومية بوجه عام، وتزايد مستوى المنافسة في الاقتصاد العالمي، ومن هنا فإنه بحلول عام 2030 يتعين أن يكون القطاع الخاص قادرًا على إدارة النشاط الاقتصادي بشكل يضمن استدامة الإزدهار.

وأن الرؤية الاقتصادية هي تثبيت ازدهار مملكتنا على أسس صلبة، إذ يجب أن تلتزم سياسة التمويل الحكومي بمبدأ الاستدامة من أجل المحافظة على نظام مستقر قائم على التطلعات المستقبلية.

 


برنامج الحكومة (2022-2019)

يركز برنامج الحكومة (2019-2022) على البناء على ما تحقق من مكتسبات للوطن والمواطنين، في ظل الوصول إلى توازن مالي بين المصروفات والإيرادات مع الاستمرار في تحقيق نمو اقتصادي إيجابي واستقرار نقدي وتنمية شاملة.

يهدف  توجه الاستدامة المالية والتنمية الاقتصادية في برنامج الحكومة إلى تقليص العجز في الميزانية العامة واستقرار الدين العام، والوصول للتوازن المالي بين المصروفات والإيرادات مع نهاية عام 2022، مع الاستمرار في تحقيق نمو اقتصادي إيجابي، واستقطاب الاستثمارات بما يساهم في خلق المزيد من فرص العمل الواعدة للمواطنين، من خلال تنمية القطاعات غير النفطية وتنظيم وتنمية قطاع النفط والغاز والصناعات المرتبطة بهما في ظل اكتشاف أكبر حقل للنفط والغاز بمملكة البحرين.

وتسهم وزارة الصناعة والتجارة والسياحة بشكل رئيسي من خلال المبادرات إلى تحقيق التوجه الحكومي الخاص بتحقيق النمو الاقتصادي المستدام المتمثل في:

  • تعزيز دور القطاع الخاص كمحرك أساسي للنمو.
  • تنويع الاقتصاد المحلي من خلال دعم القطاعات الاقتصادية ذات الأولوية (النفط، الصناعات التحويلية، الخدمات المالية، الخدمات اللوجستية، السياحة، الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات).
  • تعزيز البيئة التشريعية والتنظيمية اللازمة للقطاعات الداعمة للنمو الاقتصادي.
  • تعزيز وتطوير البيئة الاستثمارية لتشجيع الاستثمار والابتكار وريادة الأعمال.
  • المواصلة في تحسين ربط البحرين بالأسواق الإقليمية والدولية.

إلى جانب مساهمة الوزارة في دعم وتعزيز دور المؤسسات الناشئة والصغيرة والمتوسطة الداعمة للنمو الاقتصادي والمساهمة في البرامج الداعمة لضمان نمو بيئة الأعمال.


وضع أهداف الوزارة

تتبنى وزارة الصناعة والتجارة والسياحة خطط وأهداف استراتيجية واضحة تستند على مجموعة من البرامج والمشاريع المحددة وفق مستهدفات برنامج الحكومة 2019-2022 وطموحات الرؤية الاقتصادية 2030 وفق رؤية مملكة البحرين الاقتصادية 2030، وفي اطار سعي الوزارة إلى تحقيق المستهدفات فقد أعلنت الوزارة أهدافها بحيث تضمنت ستة محاور استراتيجية و15 مبادرة / مشروع (تتغير وفقاً لبرنامج الحكومة كل 4 سنوات) لترجمة تلك الأهداف في سبيل المساهمة في تحسين وتطوير بيئة الأعمال التجارية والصناعية في البحرين في القطاعين الحكومي والخاص.​

وهي تعتمد على مجموعة من الركائز أهمها: ضمان وجود مناخ تنظيمي شفاف وعادل، والاستفادة من الاتفاقيات التجارية الثنائية والدولية، ووجود قطاع تنافسي للصناعات الصغيرة والمتوسطة، وتعزيز المقدرة التصديرية للصناعات التحويلية الوطنية، ورفع مستوى التنافسية في القطاع الصناعي، وتحسين نوعية وكفاءة خدمات الوزارة وذلك بتوظيف التقنيات المعلوماتية الحديثة.


مقاييس النجاح بالنسبة لوزارة الصناعة والتجارة  والسياحة

تأثر مبادرات الوزارة على الأمور ذات الأولوية كون الوزارة هي المحرك الرئيسي للاقتصاد في الحكومة، وخدماتها لها تأثير رئيسي على المجتمع في المواقع التالية:

  • تحسين الحياة المعيشية وذلك بخلق وظائف من خلال خلق فرص ونشاطات صناعية وتجارية.
  • تسهيل الإجراءات حسب أفضل الممارسات الدولية المتعلقة بممارسة النشاط الصناعي والتجاري والتي ستأثر إيجاباً على الدخل القومي.
  • تحسين مستوى المعيشة من خلال وجود بنية تحتية للأعمال ذات مستوى عالمي.
  • المحافظة على حقوق المستهلكين وكذلك مراعاة الجودة في الصناعات والخدمات المحلية منها والأجنبية.
  • زيادة الوعي لدى العامة فيما يتعلق بحقوق الملكية الفكرية، وحقوق المستهلك، وحوكمة الشركات.

الرؤية الاقتصادية 1.jpg
الرؤية الاقتصادية 2.jpg

الرؤية الاقتصادية 3.jpg 

الاستراتيجيات العامة للوزارة:

إن حكومة مملكة البحرين تركز في عملها على ثوابت أساسية قائمة على مبادئ العدالة والتنافسية ​والاستدامة، وتحقيق التوازن المالي بين الإيرادات والمصروفات الحكومية بحلول عام 2022 ، والتنمية المستدامة، وقد أنتهجت وزارة الصناعة والتجارة والسياحة عدداً من الاستراتيجيات العامة لتأصيل هذه المبادىء، كالآتي:

  • التأكيد على أهمية  توفير بيئة عادلة تحفظ حقوق المستهلك والتاجر وتحمي الطرفين من الممارسات التجارية الخاطئة، وتسهم في بناء ثقة المستهلك في المنتجات المباعة في السوق عبر تعزيز الثقة بتحقيق أعلى مستويات الشفافية والتنظيم والرقابة لضمان مطابقة المنتجات في الأسواق للمواصفات والمقاييس، إلى جانب تأكيدها على ضرورة تعزيز وزيادة وعي المستهلك فيما يتعلق بالحقوق والمنتجات عن طريق تعزيز وعي المستهلك والتاجر بالحقوق والممارسات في التعاملات التجارية.
  •  تعزيز التنافسية في بيئة الأعمال عبر تسهيل ممارسة الأعمال التجارية والاستثمارية ورفع تنافسية المملكة عبر دعم احتياجات الأعمال التجارية وتمكين السياسات والقوانين.
  • التركيز على الاستثمارات في القطاعات غير النفطية لتوليد الفرص الاستثمارية فيها، وتحسين البيئة التنظيمية والإجرائية لتمكين استثمارات نوعية عن طريق تسهيل تقديم الخدمات والتراخيص من خلال مركز موحد وبشكل الكتروني من خلال النظام الالكتروني للوزراة "سجلات 2.0" ونظام الخدمات الصناعية "صناعة".
  • الاهتمام برفع ثقافة ريادة الأعمال عبر زيادة عدد الشركات والمؤسسات الناشئة، ونشر ثقافة ريادة الاعمال كأحد أهم الركائز المعرفية لفئة الشباب، والمساعدة في تأهيلهم لتحويل أفكارهم إلى مشاريع تجارية ناجحة مستدامة، ودعم مسرعات وحاضنات الأعمال ومراكز رواد الأعمال وتطوير برامج ومحتوى العمل الحر في مختلف المراحل التعليمية.
  • تسعى الوزارة وتعمل على تحقيقها زيادة البرامج التمويلية والاستثمارية والتطويرية الموجهة للمنشآت الصغيرة والمتوسطة، وزيادة خلق فرص العمل من المنشآت الصغيرة والمتوسطة وخلق بيئة جاذبة ومحفزة لقطاع المنشآت الصغيرة والمتوسطة من خلال مراجعة وتطوير السياسات والإجراءات والأنظمة القائمة وانشاء بوابة الإلكترونية تمكن هذه المؤسسات من المشاركة في المناقصات والمشتريات الحكومية المخصصة لها، بالإضافة إلى الحصول على أفضلية بنسبة 10% عند المشاركة في مزايدات المرافق الخدمية داخل منشآت الجهات الحكومية.
  • اهتمت مبادرات الوزارة بمكافحة عمليات غسل الأموال وتمويل الارهاب، كما تضمنت المبادرات إطلاق مركز الخدمة الشاملة الالكتروني للمستثمرين سجلات 2.0، وتعزيز الرقابة من خلال تفعيل حوكمة والتزام الشركات ورفع مستوى الشفافية والإفصاح.


مؤشرات الأداء

يتم تحقيق الأهداف الاستراتيجية للوزارة من خلال خلق مشاريع مرتبطة بها والتي تتضمن مؤشرات أداء لقياس انجازها والتحقق من أهدافها.


المساواة بين الجنسين:

قامت وزارة الصناعة والتجارة والسياحة بتشكيل لجنة لتكافؤ الفرص، وهي لجنة تهدف إلى ادماج احتياجات المرأة في إطار تكافؤ الفرص في مجال العمل وتعمل على تحقيق مبدأ تكافؤ الفرص بين جميع الموظفين والمستفيدين والخدمات المقدمة من قبل الوزارة وذلك بالتنسيق مع المجلس الأعلى للمرأة، وتبدي اللجنة رأيها في القضايا المتعلقة بإدماج احتياجات المرأة في إطار تكافؤ الفرص.  وقد قامت الوزارة بتشكيل لجنة تكافؤ الفرص اثر صدور تعليمات جهاز الخدمة المدنية رقم (4) لعام 2014 بشأن انشاء لجان تكافؤ الفرص بالقطاع الحكومي.

تختص لجنة تكافؤ الفرص في الوزارة بوضع الضوابط والمعايير والخطط ذات العلاقة بتطبيق مبادئ تكافؤ الفرص وتحقيق الادماج الكامل لاحتياجات المرأة في إطار تكافؤ الفرص ومتابعة تطبيقها وتقديم الاستشارات بالتنسيق مع المجلس الأعلى للمرأة وجهاز الخدمة المدنية إذا تطلب الأمر ذلك بحسب اختصاصاته المنصوص عليها في قانون ولوائح الخدمة المدنية وذلك في المجالات التالية:

  • تعزيز تكافؤ الفرص بين موظفي الوزارة في التعيين والتدريب والابتعاث والترقي الوظيفي وضمان مراعاة ادماج احتياجات المرأة العاملة.
  • إدماج احتياجات المرأة في إطار تكافؤ الفرص في سياسات وخطط وموازنة الوزارة.
  • بناء قدرات موظفي الوزارة في مجال ادماج احتياجات المرأة في إطار تكافؤ الفرص.
  • تحسين وضعية المرأة وبيئة عملها والتغلب على المعوقات والصعوبات التي تواجه تطبيق مبدأ تكافؤ الفرص في الوزارة.
  • دعم جهود المجلس الأعلى للمرأة وتفعيل ونشر جهوده في مجال مبدأ تكافؤ الفرص وإدماج احتياجات المرأة في إطار تكافؤ الفرص في برامج الوزارة حسب برامج الخطة الوطنية لنهوض المرأة البحرينية.
  • تحقيق مبدأ تكافؤ الفرص لجميع المستفيدين من الخدمات المقدمة في الوزارة.